Bobbyjo Chase

The Bobbyjo Chase is the premier Grand National Trial in Ireland and always attracts a stellar field in February each season; Irish Trainers will often point their Grand National horses towards Fairyhouse each year. The race was named after the legendary Bobbyjo who won the Grand National in 1999, he was injured on the racecourse and died at a young age but was honoured with this race.

The race sits a couple of months before the Grand National so is the ideal tune up for horses heading across the Irish Sea for Aintree, the race has been won twice by trainer Willie Mullins including with Hedgehunter in 2005 and twice by Dessie Hughes who has won it with Black Apalachi and Vic Venturi over the past couple of years. So far, only Hedgehunter has won the race before going on take the Grand National in the same season since the race was first run in 2003.

The race has a trip of 3 miles 1 furlong so horses wanting to run well at Aintree will need to show they can last the trip and are staying on in the Bobbyjo Chase while confident jumping is also a must for punters watching the race with the Grand National in mind.

Bobbyjo Chase Betting - Click To Bet

Past Bobbyjo Chase Winners

  • 2015 - Roi De Mee

  • 2014 - On His Own

  • 2013 - Roi Du Me

  • 2012 - Prince De Beauchene

  • 2011 - The Midnight Club

  • 2010 - Vic Venturi

  • 2009 - Black Apalachi

  • 2008 - Afistfullofdollars

  • 2007 - Homer Wells

  • 2006 - Forget the Past

  • 2005 - Hedgehunter*

  • 2004 - Takagi

  • 2003 - Rince Ri

* Grand National Winners In Bold

New posts have just been added
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.